Blogger Accent

I saw this over on Jill’s blog and thought it would be fun to do the same thing here. Basically, say a list of words and then answer some questions so that people can hear what your accent sounds like.

Yes, that is what my voice actually sounds like! I’m not sure if it sounds naturally boring or if it was due to my being at work on a Saturday. It probably would have helped if I had been more awake and caffeinated.

List of Words:
Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

Questions:

  • What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
  • What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
  • What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
  • What do you call gym shoes?
  • What do you say to address a group of people?
  • What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped
  • body and extremely long legs?
  • What do you call your grandparents?
  • What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry
  • groceries at the supermarket?
  • What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
  • What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

That’s it for the “official” part of this. As I said in the video, I was a bit surprised that we weren’t asked to say certain words that are often used to show regional variations in pronunciation. If you just want to hear someone’s accent, I suppose that reading any extended text would work. But if you’re curious, here are the words I was saying at the end:

  • Mary – merry – marry
  • Derry – dairy

Pronouncing the words in each set alike tends to be a mark of a West Coast accent. I’m not sure if it can be generalized to the Western U.S., or at least not to the inter-mountain West; I thought that native Utahans had an accent of sorts at times.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blogger Accent

  1. I say the mary/merry/marry and dairy/derry stuff all the same. And when I moved to Utah people told me I talked strange (coming from the mid-west) but over time I’m sure I picked up some of those Utah-isms too! Thanks for playing along! 🙂

  2. Terri says:

    I should tell Jill on Twitter that she can hear more of my voice than she really wants to, on my law library’s site through all those videos and tutorials. True, they put people to sleep, but it’s my voice. That’s funny, and no you are not naturally boring!!

Leave a Reply

